

CONNECTION. COMMUNITY. OPPORTUNITY.

44 Stelton Road, Suite 330 Piscataway, NJ 08854

Kathy Schalk-Greene, Executive Director | kathy@librarylinknj.org

Spring Membership Meeting

Minutes – June 5, 2019

Monroe Township Library (Middlesex County)

INTRODUCTION

Executive Director Kathy Schalk Greene welcomed everyone at the Monroe Township Library to the Membership Meeting. She introduced the LLNJ staff. Board President Ranjna Das introduced representatives from the Executive Board, the State Library, as well as NJLA.

CALL TO ORDER

Board President Ranjna Das (Burlington County Library System) called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m. and announced that the meeting was in compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act.

MINUTES

Executive Board Member Ranjna Das (Burlington County Library System) presented the minutes of the June 5, 2019 Spring Membership Meeting and moved to approve the minutes. C.L. Quillen (Spotswood Public Library) seconded the motion, which passed as corrected.

ELECTION OF FY20 BOARD MEMBERS

Steve Chudnick, Nominating Committee presented the proposed FY20 Executive Board Slate. The nominations are Steve Chuddnick (Brookdale Community College), Ranjna Das (Burlington County Library System, Tanya Finney Estrada (Pennsauken Public Library), Adele Puccio (Maurice M. Pine Free Public Library), and Irene Sterling. Seth Stevens (Jefferson Township) moved to accept Executive Board Slate, C.L Quillen (Spotswood Public Library) seconded the motion. The nominations by petition were Corey Fleming (Paterson Free Public Library), Allan Kleiman (Montville Township Public Library) and Ricardo Pino (West Millford Township Library).

NEW JERSEY STATE LIBRARY REPORT

New Jersey State Librarian, Mary Chute, highlighted the initiatives of the State Library.

STATE OF COOPERATIVE

Kathy Schalk-Greene, Executive Director, gave an overview of the budget and the delivery situation.

PROPOSED BYLAWS AMENDMENT

Adele Puccio proposed to amend the Bylaws to include the following. Beginning January 1, 2020, no fee or cost share required of LLNJ Members may

increase by more than 2% in any fiscal year. Seth Stevens seconded the motion, which passed. Steve Chudnick moved to postpone the above amendment until a delivery study could be conducted. Jane Crocker seconded the motion which failed with a vote of 54-yes votes and 66 votes no votes. After a long discussion Allan Kleiman moved to end the debate. C.L Quilin seconded the motion which passed.

PROPOSED FY20 SERVICE INITIATIVES

Board Strategic Planning Committee Das presented the proposed FY20 Budget. Ellen Callanan (Sussex County Library System) moved that it be accepted. Steve Chudnick seconded the motion which passed.

PROPOSED FY20 BUDGET

Ranjna Das, Executive Board President presented the proposed FY20 budget. Ellen Callanan (Sussex County Library System) moved to pass the budget. Steve Chudnick (Brookdale Community College) seconded the motion, which passed.

RESULTS OF ELECTION

The following members were elected to the LLNJ Executive Board. Steve Chudnick (Brookdale Community College), Corey Fleming (Paterson Free Public Library), Allan Kleiman (Montville Township Public Library), Ricardo Pino (West Milford Township Library) and Irene Sterling (Passaic County).

ADJOURNMENT

Dan Vetrano (Sayreville Library) moved to adjourn the meeting. Adele Puccio (Maurice M. Pine Free Public Library) seconded the motion which passed. The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Schalk-Greene, Executive Director