The Leadership Academy

Leadership Academy Participants

The Leadership Academy is a 9-day leadership development program for library leaders. The Academy is sponsored by the New Jersey State Library, LibraryLinkNJ, and the New Jersey Library Association. It is being led by Connie Paul and includes a structured learning track and the opportunity for individual development. The inaugural session took place at the Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center on November 17-18, 2013, with Maureen Sullivan. The group is meeting monthly throughout the year until June 2014. Library leaders and others will introduce: Leading in turbulent times; Interpersonal competence; Power and influence; Working with teams; Keeping connected, NJ structure and demographics, and other topics. Participants are working in groups developing a project based on goals identified in the statewide strategic plan. Members will discuss their experience and their group project work at the NJLA Conference, June 2014, at the State Librarian’s Program.

Statewide participants include:

Name Library/Organization
Jennifer Apgar Talking Book and Braille Center
Ralph Bingham Gloucester County Library System - Mulica Hill
John Bonney Neptune Public Library
David Costa Sparta Public Library
Lynnette Fucci Monroe Township Public Library
Mary Kennedy Library of the Chathams
Irene Langlois Maplewood Memorial Library
Mi-Sun Lyu LibraryLinkNJ
Allen McGinley Piscataway Public Library
Molly Monte Atlantic County Library System - Egg Harbor
Melissa Okerblom Parsippany Library
Christen Orbanus Camden County Library System
Kimberly Paone Matawan Aberdeen Public Library
Tyler Rousseau Monroe Township Public Library
Nadine Sergejeff Newark Public Library
Katherine Vasilik J. F. Kennedy Library Piscataway
Darryl Voorhees Alexander Library, Rutgers University
Leslie Witko New Jersey State Library


Goal Categories